Advertisement
Advertisement

How to delete friends on PS4

Katharine Byrne
25 Feb 2020
Advertisement

Need to delete someone off your PS4 friends list? Here's how to get rid of them in three easy steps

Even if you don't know them in real life, adding gaming partners as friends on PS4 can make it a lot easier to see when they're online.

It's a great tool for those times when you want to band together and team up on the latest multiplayer games you're both playing, and it's also a handy way of communicating with each other when you're offline as well, as you can send friends private messages to organise your next gaming session. 

However, sometimes friendships sour or you might just want to do a bit of a purge and tidy up your ever-expanding list of gaming buddies. In this handy guide, we'll show you how to delete friends from your PS4 and get them off your friends list forever. 

Step 1: Turn on your PS4 and log in to your PlayStation Network account. On the main home screen, tap up on the d-pad to access the Function menu and select Friends.

Step 2: Here you'll see a list of your friends. Press right on the d-pad and select the friend you want to delete.

Step 3: You'll then be presented with your friend's main profile page. There isn't an obvious 'delete friend' button anywhere, but if you press the Menu option (represented by three dots), you'll bring up an additional side menu on the right side of the screen. This gives you the option to remove that friends from your friends list, so just select that and you're done!

Of course, if you're removing them because they're harassing you online or are being generally nasty, then you should also report them using the Report option in the same side menu screen before you remove them. Alternatively, if you just want to stop them from sending you endless messages, select Block.

Read more

Tutorials