Skip to navigation

Samsung Series 9 (late 2011 refresh) review

  • Samsung Series 9 (late 2011 refresh)
  • Samsung Series 9 (late 2011 refresh) keyboard
  • Samsung Series 9 (late 2011 refresh) Ports 2
  • Samsung Series 9 (late 2011 refresh) Ports

Verdict:

A great looking laptop, but with some frustrations and a high price it's difficult to recommend

Review Date: 20 Jan 2012

Price when reviewed: £1,183

Buy it now for: £2002
(see more store prices)

Supplier: http://www.dabs.com

Reviewed By: Tom Morgan

Our Rating 3 stars out of 5

User Rating 4 stars out of 5

Powered by Reevoo

The first version of Samsung's Series 9 laptop wasn't an official Ultrabook, but this refreshed version brings it into line with Intel's specification. With a dark brushed metal finish, curved hinge and rounded corners, it has a distinctive appearance that helps it stand out from its competitors. A single Samsung logo on the lid helps retain the minimalist look, which continues when you lift the screen.

Samsung Series 9 (late 2011 refresh)

The Chiclet-style keyboard is backlit, so you should have no trouble working on the Series 9 in the dark. The spacious full-size keys are responsive and a pleasure to use, with plenty of spring, although we did spot a noticeable amount of flex in the keyboard tray. The integrated touchpad is also very easy to use, although as on some other ultrabooks it lacks physical touchpad buttons. The pad and buttons are combined into a single panel, and for the most part it worked accurately. Even so, the very limited tactile feedback made it difficult to tell if a click had been registered or not.

Samsung Series 9 (late 2011 refresh) keyboard

We were impressed with the image quality of the 13in display, which looked incredibly sharp despite its unremarkable 1,366x768 resolution. Pictures were vibrant at maximum brightness, although not quite as impressive as other ultrabooks we’ve seen – this is mostly because Samsung has opted to use a matt display finish, which mutes colour reproduction slightly. On the plus side, this has the benefit of reducing light glare significantly, so we had no trouble working under the harsh lights of our labs space. Viewing angles are about average and there’s a good range of screen tilt, so you shouldn’t find it too hard to get a comfortable working position.

The Series 9's refresh has left it relatively unchanged on the outside, but inside Samsung has upgraded the processor to an Intel Core i5-2467M running at 1.6GHz. Combined with 4GB of RAM and a 128GB SSD, it completed our multimedia benchmarks with a somewhat disappointing overall score of 35. This isn’t the fastest performance we’ve seen from this particular chip, but the laptop is still quick enough for most day-to-day tasks. With a superb battery life of seven and a half hours, you can work for long stretches without worrying about the remaining charge.

Prev Next

User Reviews

Best Prices

Price comparison powered by Reevoo

£2002
< Previous   Reviews : Laptops Next >
Sponsored Links

advertisement

Award-winning Laptops

Tesco Hudl review

Tesco Hudl

Category: Laptops
Rating: 4 out of 5
Price: £119
Lenovo IdeaPad Flex 15D review

Lenovo IdeaPad Flex 15D

Category: Laptops
Rating: 3 out of 5
Price: £500
Toshiba Chromebook CB30-102 review

Toshiba Chromebook CB30-102

Category: Laptops
Rating: 4 out of 5
Price: £230
Sony Xperia Z2 Tablet review

Sony Xperia Z2 Tablet

Category: Laptops
Rating: 5 out of 5
Price: £399
LG G Pad 8.3 review

LG G Pad 8.3

Category: Laptops
Rating: 5 out of 5
Price: £238
Sponsored Links
 

advertisement

Also in this category...
 

advertisement


advertisement


 
 

Expert Reviews Printed from www.expertreviews.co.uk

Register to receive our regular email newsletter at http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/registration.

The newsletter contains links to our latest PC news, product reviews, features and how-to guides, plus special offers and competitions.